Notable Alumni

  • Lokmanya Bal Gangadhar Tilak

    A great Indian freedom fighter, national leader and social reformer who advocated Swaraj or Self Rule

  • Gopal Ganesh Agarkar

    A social reformer, educationist, thinker from Maharashtra during the British rule

  • Gurudev Ramachandra Dattatrya Ranade

    A scholar-philosopher-saint of Maharashtra

  • Senapati Bapat (Pandurang Mahadev Bapat)

    A figure in the Indian independence movement. He acquired the title of Senapati, as a consequence of his leadership during the Mulshi satyagraha

  • Dr. Dwarkanath Kotnis

    Also known by his Chinese name Ke Dihua, was one of the five Indian physicians dispatched to China to provide medical assistance during the Second Sino-Japanese War in 1938

  • Vishnushastri Krushnashastri Chiplunkar

    A Marathi writer, whose writings have had a decisive influence on modern Marathi prose style

  • Itihasacharya Vishwanath Kashinath Rajwade

    A historian, scholar, writer, commentator and orator from Maharashtra

  • "Ahitagni" Shankar Ramchandra Rajwade

    A Vedic scholar and the younger cousin brother of Itihasacharya Vishwanath Kashinath Rajwade

  • Ramakrishna Gopal Bhandarkar

    A scholar, orientalist, and social reformer

  • Sahityasamrat Tatyasaheb Kelkar

    Narasimha Chintaman Kelkar) A lawyer from Miraj as well as a dramatist, novelist, short story writer, poet, biographer, critic, historian, writer on philosophical and political themes.

  • Hari Narayan Apte

    A Marathi writer from Maharashtra

  • Vaman Shivram Apte

    A lexicographer and best known for his compilation of a dictionary entitled, The Student's English-Sanskrit Dictionary

  • Cornelia Sorabji

    The first woman graduate from Deccan College having secured Bachelor of Arts degree in Literature in 1888 with First Class and was India’s very first woman lawyer

  • Meher Baba

    Merwan Sheriar Irani) (An Indian spiritual master who said he was the Avatar, God in human form

  • Shripad Krishna Belvalkar

    Professor of Sanskrit at Deccan College. He made varied contributions in the field of Veda, Grammar, Epics, Classical Sanskrit Literature, Poetics, Indian philosophy, and Textual Criticism

  • Vishnu Narayan Bhatkhande

    An Indian musicologist who wrote the first modern treatise on Hindustani classical music, an art which had been propagated earlier for a few centuries mostly through oral traditions

  • Moropant Vishwanath Joshi

    A leading barrister, social reformer and politician from Amravati, Central Provinces and Berar

  • Brahmarsi Annasaheb Patwardhan

    Lokmanya Tilak's spiritual guru, a skilled lawyer and medical (Ayurvedic) practitioner, political revolutionary and strong nationalist

  • Ganesh Srikrishna Khaparde alias Dada Saheb Khaparde

    A renowned Lawyer, Scholar, political activist, closely associated with Bal Gangadhar Tilak

  • Vaijanath Kashinath Rajwadee

    A well known English and Sanskrit scholar and the elder brother of Vishwanath Kashinath Rajwade

  • D.R. Bhandarkar

    An Indian Archaeologist and epigraphist who worked with the Archaeological Survey of India. He was the son of eminent Indologist, R. G. Bhandarkar

  • Bhawani Singh

    Brigadier Sawai Bhawani Singh Bahadur) (The titular Maharaja of Jaipur from 24 June 1970 to 28 December 1971 and member 1st Lok Sabha

  • Balasaheb Hanumantrao Khardekar

    Member 1st Lok Sabha

  • Barrister Apa B. Pant

    An Indian Prince (the son of the tenth ruler of the Aundh State), Gandhian, writer, freedom fighter and diplomat. He served as the Indian Commissioner at various African countries

  • Ramchandra Narayan Dandekar

    An Indologist and Vedic scholar from Maharashtra

  • Justice P. B. Gajendragadkar

    The 7th Chief Justice of India, serving from February 1964 to March 1966

  • Vasudev Vishnu Mirashi

    A Sanskrit scholar and a prominent Indologist from Maharashtra

  • V.S. Wakankar

    An Indian Archaeologist

  • Yashodhar Mathpal

    An Indian Archaeologist, painter, curator, Gandhian and Rock Art Conservationist

  • Bhalchandra Nemade

    A Marathi writer from Maharashtra

  • Ramachandran Nagaswamy

    An Indian historian, archaeologist, epigraphist, and founder-Director of the Tamil Nadu Archaeology Department